Tours and Travels

The Boudhanath Stupa in Kathmandu

Written by Lvyou

The Boudhanath Stupa is located in the depths of the Kathmandu Valley and is the epitome of Tibetan culture. Its long history can be traced back to the 14th century.
There are 7 cultural heritage sites in the Kathmandu Valley, namely Durbar Square, Swayambhunath Temple (also known as Monkey Temple), The Boudhanath Stupa, Badging Ancient City, Canggu Narayan Temple, Patan Ancient City, Pashupatinath Temple is one of the most important temples in Hinduism.
As it is located on the main trade route between China’s Tibet and Nepal, the Boda Harvard Pagoda area has become an important sacred place for Tibetan Buddhism in Nepal. There are 147 recessed niches on the outer wall of the ring wall, with prayer wheels and 108 meditating statues of gods and Buddhas hanging inside. When praying, believers must walk in a clockwise direction, while drawing rosary beads or reciting scriptures, while turning the prayer wheel. Most of the believers who came to worship were Tibetan Buddhists from Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan and other places.
On April 9, 2014, as China’s first overseas temple, the Chinese Temple of Nepal donated RMB 300,000 in Kathmandu to rebuild a 600-meter-long “passing road” for the local World Heritage Boda Harvard Tower.
On April 25, 2015, a magnitude 8.1 earthquake occurred in Nepal. The top of the main building of the Boudhanath Stupa cracked and the auxiliary tower collapsed, making it a dangerous building.

The tower body is divided into 5   layers, the first layer is a compound bowl-shaped semicircular structure, which represents water;
The second floor is a square structure, which represents the ground. It is a square gilded stone masonry. There are 4 eyebrows painted in the southeast, northwest, and called “eyes of wisdom”;
The third layer is a triangular structure, which represents fire. This layer is further divided into 13 levels, and the layers shrink;
The fourth layer is an umbrella-shaped structure, which represents Qi;
The highest layer, the fifth layer, is a spiral structure, representing the “Essence of Life”. It expresses the composition of all things with the four elements of earth, water, fire, and wind, and is called the “four great harmony” in Buddhism. There is a circular base under the pagoda, and 80 niches are recessed in the outer wall of the base. Each niche contains a Buddha statue. Under the circular base, there are 3   wide and tall white stone masonry bases. In the plan layout, each base is in the shape of two rectangles and a square “cross”, so each floor has 12 angle. On the 12 corners of the base of the ground floor, each has a small stupa several meters high. There are stone steps on all sides of the base that lead to the semicircular tower base, and there are several pairs of stone lions beside the stone steps.

About the author


Leave a Comment